Home › Practice Guides › Psychology Today Alternatives for Therapists (2026): 19 Options Compared

Psychology Today Alternatives for Therapists (2026): 19 Options Compared

Compare general directories, identity-focused communities, association locators and insurance marketplaces using published terms and clear limits on what their claims establish.

Editorially reviewed 11 sources cited Free to read

In short

The right Psychology Today alternative depends on what you need: another public listing, a more relevant community, affordable-care referrals, a specialist locator or help accepting insurance. TherapyDen offers a free profile, with search inclusion at $30 a month; GoodTherapy starts at $30.95 monthly; Mental Health Match offers 60 free days before $39 monthly or $375 annually. Zencare's quoted marketing price starts at $59 monthly plus setup. The table compares 19 options because marketplaces and association locators also belong in the decision. Psychology.com operates a directory and appears as one option, without a ranking or promised referral volume.

Which Psychology Today alternatives should you consider?

Choose an alternative by the job you need it to do. If you want another public profile, compare general directories. If you want people to recognize a specific community focus, consider an identity-focused directory that fits your work. If you want help accepting insurance, evaluate a marketplace's provider agreement as well as its discovery features.

Those categories overlap, but they are not interchangeable purchases. A directory subscription mainly buys a place where people can find and assess you. An insurance marketplace can affect billing, documentation and the way prospective clients enter your practice. A professional association locator may be a benefit of dues you already pay rather than a separate advertising bill.

Start with the gap in your current referral mix. More inquiries will not help if they all arrive for unavailable evening hours or an insurance plan you do not accept. Write down the appointments you can offer and the people you are qualified to serve before shopping. That turns a long directories list into a short, testable set of options.

How do the alternatives compare on price and verification?

Checked September 26, 2026. US therapist offers; verification describes published requirements, not our audit. Not published means the checked material did not establish a figure.
OptionTypePriceTrialVerificationWho it suits
TherapyDenGeneralFree profile; $30 a month to appear in its searchOngoing free listingMethod not publishedValues-focused practice
GoodTherapyGeneral$30.95 / $40.95 / $49.95 monthlyNot statedMembers verified before listingDirectory plus optional CE
ZencareGeneralFrom $59 monthly; $69 NY/CA; $80 setupNo directory trial statedLicense checks; optional vetted badgePhoto/video support
Mental Health MatchGeneral$39 monthly / $375 annually60 daysLicense checks statedMatching questionnaire
Inclusive TherapistsIdentity-focusedNot published in accessible evidenceEligibility-specific; unverifiedRequirements need confirmationJustice-aligned practice
Open Path CollectiveSpecialty: affordable careFree to therapistsNot applicableApplication reviewReduced-fee appointments
Therapy for Black GirlsIdentity-focused$25 monthly / $300 yearlyOffered; duration not statedVetted network claimedServing Black women
Latinx TherapyIdentity-focused$10 Basic / $23 Standard monthly; $223 Premium yearlyNot statedVerification before publicationLatinx communities
NQTTCNIdentity-focusedNot publishedNot publishedMethod not publishedQTBIPOC community alignment
TherapyTribeGeneral$29.95 monthly / $299 yearlyFirst month free on monthly offerMethod not publishedGeneral listing alternative
TheraviveGeneralNot published before signup detailsNot publishedCredential attestationValues-oriented profile
HeadwayInsurance marketplaceNo membership feeNot applicableInsurance credentialingInsurance billing support
AlmaInsurance marketplace$600 first-year annual promotionNo standard trial verifiedFully licensed applicantsMembership plus insurance tools
Grow TherapyInsurance marketplaceNo provider fee statedNot applicableOnboarding; details need confirmationInsurance-based practice
SonderMindInsurance marketplaceNot published on checked join pageNot publishedIndependent license requiredIntegrated practice workflow
APA Psychologist LocatorAssociation locatorNo listing fee for eligible APA membersNot applicableValid clinical license requiredAPA member psychologists
ADAAAssociation locatorMember benefit; dues need confirmationNot applicableMember profile; method not publishedRelevant specialist members
IOCDFAssociation locator$150 yearly professional membershipNot statedIndependent license requiredRelevant specialist members
Psychology.comGeneral$49 monthly / $490 yearly30 daysNPI identity + state license; dates shownCapped specialty/metro panel

What do the quoted general-directory prices include?

GoodTherapy's join page, accessed September 26, 2026, quotes "BASIC MEMBERSHIP Directory Listing $30.95/mo," "PREMIUM MEMBERSHIP Directory Listing + Unlimited CE Credits $40.95/mo," and "PRO MEMBERSHIP Directory Listing + Unlimited CE Credits + FrontDesk Practice Management $49.95/mo." Its verification statement says members are checked before an active listing. CE access is useful only if the activities meet your actual board requirements.

The supplied September 26, 2026 Zencare pricing capture quotes "Marketing - Fee per therapist starts at $59 per month + $80 one-time set up fee" and "$69 per month in NY and CA." A "50min photo and videoshoot" is part of the described marketing offer. Its separate vetting page describes license checks and an optional badge. Confirm current production arrangements and badge requirements before committing.

Mental Health Match's therapist page, accessed September 26, 2026, states "Join Us For Free For 60 Days" and "After your trial ends, pay just $39 Monthly Or $375 Annually." Its model uses a matching questionnaire to help people find suitable clinicians. Matching is an introduction process, not a prediction that a person will book or that the therapeutic relationship will work.

TherapyDen's sign-in page, accessed September 26, 2026, says "CREATE A FREE PROFILE." TherapyDen’s own FAQ, checked September 26, 2026, adds the part that matters for referrals: free profiles are not "included in TherapyDen search results" and can list only one online-counseling state; the premium profile that is included in search and can list multiple states costs "$30" a month. TherapyTribe's registration page displays "$29.95 USD" for monthly listing, "$299.00 USD" annually, and "1st MONTH FREE" on the monthly offer. Theravive's public signup requires credential attestation but did not expose a price before personal signup details, so this guide does not substitute an older third-party quote.

How do identity-focused alternatives differ?

Inclusive Therapists, Therapy for Black Girls, Latinx Therapy and NQTTCN serve distinct communities and missions. Choose one because your professional work and identity-related competence belong there, not because a narrower audience looks like an easier marketing target. Membership does not itself demonstrate cultural responsiveness; your description should explain actual experience, language capacity and how people can assess fit.

A smaller relevant audience can be useful, but there is no verified local traffic comparison here that establishes its value in advance. Read the membership and community expectations before applying. If the directory includes both licensed and other practitioners, clearly identify your own license and scope rather than treating every listing as the same credential.

What are the verified identity-directory offers?

Therapy for Black Girls' Start Here page, accessed September 26, 2026, says "Individual listings for $25/month" and displays a $300 yearly option. It also says "Start Your Free Trial" without publishing a duration in the checked text. The site describes a vetted network. Its focus may suit clinicians whose practice serves Black women, subject to its current membership criteria.

Latinx Therapy's Join page, accessed September 26, 2026, lists Solo Basic at "$10" monthly, Solo Standard at "$23" monthly and Solo Premium at "$223" yearly. Basic excludes a website link; Standard adds it and the ability to create a Spanish listing. These plan differences matter when your goal is to direct people to your own website or explain services in Spanish.

For Inclusive Therapists, the accessible indexed FAQ raises free or reduced-fee membership and sponsored membership, but the full current terms could not be verified. Its indexed login page distinguishes a free Scholar membership from a directory profile. Do not interpret that as a universal free professional listing. Price, trial duration and sponsored eligibility need confirmation with the organization.

NQTTCN's membership page, accessed September 26, 2026, describes a network of QTBIPOC and BIPOC practitioners and organizers, while its directory centers QTBIPOC communities. No price or detailed credential-check method was established in the checked membership material. Treat community alignment and eligibility as the first questions; do not fill the missing price cell with an assumed zero.

Where do sliding-scale and specialty directories fit?

Open Path Collective is an affordability-focused option. Its therapist join page, accessed September 26, 2026, describes a "no-cost directory" and "Free client referrals," with application review and an established reduced-fee framework. It fits a practice with deliberately allocated affordable appointments, not a strategy of advertising low-cost access and then pushing every inquiry toward full fees.

Specialty networks and locators can also help people find clinicians with relevant training. The important question is whether your qualification matches the listing's actual eligibility standard, rather than whether you have attended an introductory course with a similar name. Compare specialist discovery with your general directory separately because the audience and appointment needs may differ.

Are insurance marketplaces real alternatives to Psychology Today?

Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy and SonderMind are alternatives for reaching clients, but their offers extend beyond a directory listing. They can involve insurance participation and practice systems, so examine payer participation, reimbursement terms, record access, billing responsibilities and termination procedures. A low subscription charge alone does not tell you the net value of a provider agreement.

Ask how clients reach you and whether a profile or contact route is managed by the platform. Establish who can edit your public information and what happens when you leave. Those operational questions matter even if you continue a separate private-pay practice alongside platform work.

What do the marketplace pages actually publish?

Headway's provider page, accessed September 26, 2026, states "Joining Headway is completely free" and describes insurance credentialing. It also says earnings vary by license type and location. That is a reason to request the rates relevant to your practice, not to infer a national reimbursement figure from the absence of membership fees.

Alma's provider page, accessed September 26, 2026, displays the annual promotion "Only $600 for the first year." The same display shows $1,140 as the comparison annual price. Do not call the promotional monthly equivalent a month-to-month contract or assume the promotional rate continues at renewal. Its page says membership is available to fully licensed clinicians and describes insurance and practice tools.

Grow Therapy's provider onboarding page, accessed September 26, 2026, states "no fees or minimum visit requirements." SonderMind's join page requires applicants to be "Independently licensed" and describes an integrated practice workflow, but the checked page does not publish a directory-style subscription price. For both, get the actual agreement and applicable rates before making an earnings comparison.

Are association locators worth using?

The APA Psychologist Locator, ADAA and IOCDF locators can suit clinicians who already hold relevant memberships and meet the listing requirements. Their professional context may help a prospective client understand a credential or focus, but association membership does not certify every treatment claim on a profile. Review your wording and avoid implying an endorsement beyond the membership you hold.

APA's member-benefit page describes listing as free for APA members with valid clinical licenses. ADAA's member materials describe its Find Your Therapist profile as a membership feature. IOCDF's professional membership page, accessed September 26, 2026, quotes a "yearly membership fee of $150" and includes a treatment-provider listing for independently licensed clinicians. Association dues are a cost even when no separate listing fee is charged.

Where does Psychology.com fit in this comparison?

Psychology.com operates the directory publishing this guide. Membership costs $49 a month or $490 a year after a 30-day free trial, with no per-lead fees and no cut of client fees. Clients contact members directly. That financial interest is why we group options by type rather than presenting our own service as the winner.

A verified listing matches identity to the NPI Registry and checks the license with the state board, with both dates shown on the profile. The panel is capped at 25 members per specialty per metro; the first 200 members lock their rate. Profiles are indexed by Google, written for AI readability and include a dofollow website link. None of those terms establishes a traffic or client-volume forecast.

How can you check a directory before paying?

Use the site as a prospective client would, without submitting a fake inquiry. Search your real service area and the filters that matter for your appointments. Inspect a public profile on a phone: can a reader understand fees, qualifications, availability and the next step without opening an account? A directory can have attractive sales material and still offer a poor local search experience.

Check the distinction between verification and eligibility. Requiring a license number is different from checking a board record, and either differs from reviewing clinical competence. Ask what the badge means, how often information is refreshed, and whether the person browsing can see what was checked. An unspecified method should remain an unanswered question, not become a reassuring check mark in your notes.

Read cancellation terms and save the offer you accept. Identify setup charges, annual commitments, add-ons and the loss of any included tools when membership ends. If a service advertises a guarantee, ask what action qualifies you, how a claim is submitted and what remedy is actually provided. Do not treat the word guarantee as a promised caseload.

Consider a concrete shortlist before you open several accounts. A clinician with two reduced-fee appointments and an otherwise full practice has a different need from a clinician seeking ten new full-fee clients. The first might investigate an affordability network and an existing association benefit. The second might compare a general listing with a focused source that reaches the intended audience. These are decision examples, not forecasts that either combination will deliver a set number of clients.

For each candidate, write down the one question it must answer. That could be whether a matching questionnaire produces fewer incompatible inquiries, whether a community directory reaches people who value your relevant experience, or whether an insurance agreement improves access without creating unsustainable administration. Keep the question small enough that an ordinary record of inquiries can help answer it. You do not need an elaborate analytics system to discover that every contact requests hours you cannot offer.

How to run two directories without doubling the work

Keep one master document for your practice facts: license and state, professional name, contact details, website, fees, insurance, appointment format and availability. Update it when something changes, then check each live profile against it. Consistency prevents the avoidable problem of an old listing promising a service you no longer offer.

Reuse factual information but adapt the introduction to each directory's audience and available fields. A values-focused profile may need more explanation of your experience with a community; a matching questionnaire may need precise selections about fees and scheduling. Do not tick additional specialties simply to appear in more searches. Broader exposure is unhelpful when it produces unsuitable contacts.

Choose one regular maintenance session instead of editing profiles reactively every day. Check messages, opening times and broken contact routes. Use the same definition of a suitable inquiry for both directories, and ask how people discovered you without turning the first contact into a survey. Record overlap so one client is not counted as two separate acquisitions.

At the review date, compare the second listing's additional contribution with its subscription and administration cost. Keep the combination when it serves distinct needs at a sustainable cost. If both listings repeatedly reach the same people, one may be enough. Two directories are a testable business choice, not a rule that every therapist needs two subscriptions.

Where can you verify the sources and make the next comparison?

The price table is a dated snapshot. Sources not repeated in the reference list below include Therapy for Black Girls' Start Here page (https://therapyforblackgirls.com/start-here/), Latinx Therapy's Join page (https://latinxtherapy.com/join/), NQTTCN's membership page (https://nqttcn.com/membership/), and TherapyTribe's registration page (https://www.therapytribe.com/register/). All were checked September 26, 2026.

Additional checked sources are Theravive's signup (https://www.theravive.com/forcounsellors/sign-up/join.aspx), Grow's onboarding page (https://onboarding.growtherapy.com/book-your-meeting), SonderMind's join page (https://www.sondermind.com/join-sondermind/), and APA's member-benefit page (https://www.apa.org/members/your-membership/benefits/locator). Inclusive Therapists' FAQ and login pages were available in search-indexed text but blocked direct retrieval; their unconfirmed offer details remain unknown here. ADAA's indexed profile instructions establish membership context, not a verified dues amount.

Before replacing your current listing, review the Psychology Today cost and ask is Psychology Today worth it for your own results. Our practice guides collect the comparisons so you can choose a limited experiment and measure it.

For a buying framework, use best therapist directories. Two focused comparisons are TherapyDen vs Psychology Today for a free profile and Mental Health Match vs Psychology Today for a questionnaire-led service.

Key takeaways

  • Compare the business model before comparing the subscription price.
  • Unknown public prices and verification methods are labeled rather than guessed.
  • A free association listing can still require paid membership.
  • Insurance marketplaces require a provider-agreement review beyond listing features.
  • Keep shared practice facts consistent and measure the second directory separately.

Include our published terms in your comparison

Psychology.com membership is $49 a month or $490 a year after a 30-day free trial, with no per-lead fees.

See how membership works

Frequently asked questions

What is a free alternative to Psychology Today?

TherapyDen offers a free public profile, although its FAQ says only the $30 a month premium profile appears in TherapyDen search results. Open Path has a no-cost therapist directory tied to an affordable-care model. Eligible APA members can use its Psychologist Locator without a separate listing fee. Those options have different audiences and eligibility requirements, so free does not make them interchangeable.

Which alternative sends the most clients?

The checked sources do not establish a comparable number of attended clients per therapist, specialty and metro. Vendor audience claims use different definitions and periods. Run a limited test against your actual appointment availability and judge suitable inquiries and attended first sessions.

Are Headway and Alma directories?

They include clinician discovery, but their provider offers also involve insurance and practice services. Assess the agreement, applicable reimbursement, billing responsibilities and exit terms. A marketplace membership should not be compared with a standalone directory solely by its monthly sticker price.

Is an identity-focused directory a better choice?

It may fit when its community and values genuinely match your professional work. A focused audience can make your relevant experience easier to explain. It does not excuse exaggerated claims about competence, and it does not guarantee more inquiries than a general directory in your location.

Should I pay annually for a new directory?

A lower annual equivalent can save money if you would keep the membership for the full term. It can cost more if you stop using the service early and the payment is nonrefundable. Check the actual renewal and cancellation terms before trading flexibility for a discount.

Can I reuse my bio across directories?

Reuse accurate practice facts and your own writing, then adapt the introduction to each audience and field limit. Keep fees, insurance, license states and availability consistent. Check the published version after changes, because a saved draft and a live profile may differ.

Related practice guides

References

  1. Psychology Today. US join page. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://join.psychologytoday.com/us/signup
  2. TherapyDen. Create a free account. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://www.therapyden.com/signin
  3. GoodTherapy. Therapist directory membership. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://www.goodtherapy.org/join-therapist-directory-membership
  4. Zencare. Therapist marketing and practice management. Accessed September 26, 2026; pricing from the supplied same-day research capture. https://therapist.zencare.co/
  5. Mental Health Match. For therapists. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://mentalhealthmatch.com/for-therapists
  6. Open Path Collective. Therapist join page. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://openpathcollective.org/join/
  7. Headway. For providers. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://headway.co/for-providers
  8. Alma. For providers. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://helloalma.com/for-providers/
  9. IOCDF. Professional membership. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://iocdf.org/get-involved/membership/professional/
  10. Psychology.com. Membership for therapists. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://psychology.com/for-therapists/
  11. TherapyDen. FAQ: free profiles are not included in TherapyDen search results, list one online-counseling state, and premium costs $30 a month. Accessed September 26, 2026. https://www.therapyden.com/faq

Cite this source

Fontane Pennock, S. (2026, September 26). Psychology Today Alternatives for Therapists (2026): 19 Options Compared. Psychology.com. https://psychology.com/practice-guides/psychology-today-alternatives

Important: This guide is general business information for licensed clinicians, not legal, tax, or ethics advice. Advertising rules differ by state board and professional code; check yours before you act on anything here.